First Recipe!

So I started this blog a while back, but was waiting for just the right kick-off to get it going, and I finally found it!  I’m not entirely sure what type of blog this is or what kind of posts will end up here, but recipes are something we all can benefit from, so here’s at it.

This is also more of a re-posting, but I finally had the time and resources to make a recipe I had bookmarked for some time, Angela Liddon’s Mushroom Millet Soup with Cheezy Garlic Bread (although I used quinoa instead).  I also suggest checking out her photos, she is a much more talented/ practiced food photographer than I :)

So here are the recipes, with the tweaks I added

“Cheezy” Garlic Bread (I believe it originally came from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan):

  • Slice a baguette in half
  • Peel a garlic clove and cut it in half and rub the garlic all over the bread. I found garlic powder works well because it spreads out more evenly over more textured bread.
  • Spread on some Earth Balance, butter, or your choice butter substitute
  • Followed by a dusting of nutritional yeast
  • Bake at 350F for about 14-15 minutes until crispy and golden.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 pounds fresh cremini/ baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 chopped yellow onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup frozen spinach (I’d definitely recommend fresh spinach if you have it on hand)
  • 7.5 cups low-sodium vegetable broth (if using full-sodium reduce added salt below)
  • Salt & pepper, to taste (I used about 1.5 tsp kosher salt)
  • 3 tbsp Worchester sauce
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (more or less to taste, I just splashed it in) — trust me on the flavor!

Soup!

1. Prepare your quinoa in a pot off to the side

2. Meanwhile, in large pot over medium-low heat, add a bit of olive oil along with the chopped onion, and minced garlic. Sautee for about 5 minutes until transparent, stirring frequently. Add sliced mushrooms and about a cup of the broth and cook over medium heat for about 15 minutes.

3. Stir in the rest of the broth, along with seasonings (soy sauce, salt pepper) and spinach. Be mindful of the sodium content of the broth you use, if it’s already salty- tasting you probably don’t need as much salt or soy sauce.  Mine was relatively low and I decided to try adding soy sauce to give some more flavor, and it worked great!

4.  Scoop half of the mixture into a blender and blend until almost smooth, but still chunky. Add back into the pot.

5. Stir in cooked quinoa. Season to taste with salt & pepper.  At this point I was looking through spices trying to figure out what else could add flavor to the mushrooms and stumbled upon some balsamic vinegar.  While it may not typically be found near soy sauce, I tried a splash of it in my cup and it was delicious! It was just the right addition of flavor and did not overpower the soup. Highly recommend it!

It took me about 30 min to make everything, the quinoa and bread included.  Mincing and chopping took the longest (as always..) but if you can con your family in to helping out like I did, you’ll cut the time in half :)  It was a quick and delicious fall dinner, I hope you get a chance to try it!

Leave a Reply

