Vegan Brownie Pops.

Or as I later renamed- Rich Chocolatey Goodness That Happen to Exclude Eggs.

So although it is called “vegan,” be forewarned. I did not skimp on the chocolate, and I covered them in sprinkles. Which may be two vital steps that proceed eating the whole batch in a single sitting. Or convincing yourself that chocolate bites count as breakfast (which they totally do).  Highly recommended for bake-sales or the like, they’re cute and delicious, and do the term “vegan” some justice. Also, don’t forget to check out and consult Dana (http://mylittlecelebration.com/food/vegan-black-bean-brownie-pops/). She inspired this, and I’m only reposting this in hopes of spreading brown love to more bellies :]

What ya need (yields about 22 pops):
1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 flax eggs (2 Tablespoons flaxseed meal + 5 Tablespoons water)
1 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp almond butter (or other nut butter)
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup granulated sugar + 1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp instant coffee
1/4 cup whole wheat flour

And of course, as many chocolate chips as you see fit (took the better part of the bag for the dipping)

What ya need to do:

Preheat yo oven. 350 degrees. Okay, I’ll stop talking like a crazy person. Mix the flaxseed meal with the water, and set aside to sit for about five minutes, while you puree the beans. This was tricky for me. Although I repeated the recipe several times, I never quite found the easy way to do this. It was a little much for my magic bullet, but a little small for the blender. Vita mix perhaps? Just aim to get it fully smooth so that you don’t get beans in the brownies. Unless that’s your thing… then don’t let me stop you.

Throw in the coffee and flax and you should get a very creamy mixture. Follow it with the nut butter, oil, vanilla, and maple syrup.  At this point, I took the bean mix out of the blending apparatus and stirred it in a mixing bowl.  Add in the sugar, flour, and baking powder. To be fair, there was no wheat flour in the original recipe, so if you’re looking to keep it gluten-free it’ll still work out. I thought it was a bit too fudgey for  my cake-pop intentions, but it’s an option if you’re feelin’ it. Then, if you’re feeling particularly chocolatey, go ahead and throw some c.chips into the batter. I used some. (That also distracts your guests when they taste cake-crust, or beans. You can just say, “oh, that hard crunch is just chocolate chips!”) Everyone loves chocolate chips, and you can pin the mishaps on them if need be.

Grease your pan and fill ‘er up. I liked the 10 x 10 best, again, going for a cake-ier texture. Thicker pan will yield more fudge. Bake time varies, but my total time was around 40 min. I’d start tooth-picking it around 30. Now for the fun part.

Wait. I lied. Now for the boring part.

Let cool for about 30 min, and crumble up into your mixing bowl. Place in freezer for maybe another 30 min. That part is a bit more flexible, but it’s hard to mold when its still warm and creamy.

NOW for the fun part. Ball ’em up! I let them cool over night, but I had plenty of time so feel free to abbreviate where you need. And does it get more fun? Of course. You dip them in chocolate. I melted the chips in the microwave, stirring periodically and making sure they didn’t burn. I also chose to drop them in the chocolate, and just skewer them later. Also, this next part is vital. You must cover them in sprinkles. These guys are nothing without their rainbow exterior, so make sure to get the glam on before the chocolate cools. Freeze or fridge again, and stab them when you like. Ah, the loveliness of these chocolate wonders. If you’re a food photographer, like many of you talented faces are, proceed to take pictures of your family with your chocolate. Voila!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Brownie Pops.

Leave a Reply

