Baked Cinnamon Sugar Wonders (revised)

Cinnasuga love.

Hey there, how you doin?

So I may or may not have spent the afternoon watching Friends. No big deal.

I did other stuff too, like make these fun guys. Lately I’ve avoided chocolate chips, mostly because they are so easy to throw in anything or even just nibble on, and it was not faring well for my snacking habits. I’ve also been busier lately! I’ve been working with several non-profits this month, which equates to fewer baking projects.  While I could tell you all kinds of greatness about the half- marathon I’m planning on doing, the concerts I’m going to, and the hot weather moving in that’s a staple of a VB summer, I’ll stick to the foods for the time being.

Right. My point. So today was my day off from life, and I have no chocolate chips in my house. What sweet treats could I muster without chocolate chips? Cinnamon sugar treats. That’s what. A few pages of food gawking later, I found a few ideas and came up with the perfect fix (heavily credited to Erica’s Sweet Tooth http://www.ericasweettooth.com/2012/06/baked-mini-churro-bites.html). Mom made biscotti yesterday, so there were plenty of ingredients on hand. However, I hate to admit, I was not ambitious or creative enough to sneak vegetables into these pals. They’re just good ‘ol indulgent treats, without a lot of room to throw the word “healthy” around. My bad. Suggestions? Share! Best way to not end up with the whole batch, but still get to enjoy a few :)

Here’s the deal:

you need:
1.5 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup earth balance (any butter works)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 cup soy milk
1 tbsp maple syrup
extra cinnamon, sugar, and butter on hand for dipping.
  1. preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. mix the dry ingredients, set aside
  3. Beat the egg, sugar, maple syrup, and butter in another bowl. I followed Erica’s advice and alternated adding milk and the dry mixture to the batter, and it worked well.
  4. Pour the batter into well- greased mini-muffin pans, or a donut pan if you have one nearby
  5. Bake! I only had one 12-mini muffin pan and they baked in about 10 minutes. Maybe a little less. If greased, they’ll pop out of the pan as soon as the come out of the oven.
  6. Melt a few tablespoons of butter/ earth balance (add more as needed), dip the bites in, then coat with extra cinnamon sugar (I had a 2:1 ratio of cane sugar to cinnamon)
  7. Consume!

My favorite part about these bites were that they didn’t require much waiting time. My patience is forever running low, and being able to eat the treats right out of the oven was a huge perk! The perfect fix to a baking urge without any chocolate on hand!

Hope you enjoy these! And be sure to check out Erica’s other recipes!

Leave a Reply

