A Chocolate Birthday

I have no business posting this now. None at all. Well into the throes of organic chemistry, there’s no excuse for being up late, let alone spending that time on the internet. But this site needs a post, and I spent the afternoon baking- or rather, “no-baking.” It was Dad’s bday, and everybody knows that chocolate is a fast pass to a dad’s heart. Well, this dad’s anyways.  I made a classic recipe for the fam, Angela’s no-bake chocolate torte! You probably won’t like this if you don’t like chocolate. But if you don’t like chocolate you probably have some bigger issues to work through. So I’d advise browsing earlier posts because this is strictly for the chocolate lover.

As most people probably know, Angela is one of my favorite people in the blogosphere (and I’m definitely not alone in that). You should go here [http://ohsheglows.com/2011/06/03/chilled-double-chocolate-torte-the-no-bake-version/] immediately to get her original version, but I’ll post my modifications for the sake of alternatives.  She’s made many ‘a French happy with her vegan delicacies over the years. Have at it.

Crust:

  • 2 cups mixed nuts (I used pecans, walnuts, peanuts, cashews, and macadamia. I liked the texture variety, but it may be different flavor than pure pecans so pecan-lovers may not be huge fans of the switch)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/8 cup pure maple syrup, 1/8 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt

Mousse:

  • 2 cups avocado flesh (approx 3 small avocados), pitted and scooped out
  • 1/4 cup chocolate almond milk, 1/4 cup vanilla/plain almond milk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1/4 cup honey, and a few tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp smooth almond butter– almond flavor is perfect with the flavors
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup melted chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder

*** Note. Just because you’re not hitting the “blend” button, does not… I repeat, does NOT mean that your blender is not still spinning.  A poor wooden spoon had the unfortunate fate of meeting the blade today, to my carelessness.  Which wouldn’t have mattered too much had a piece of wood not gotten lost in my mix.  After failed attempts with another spoon, I had no coice but to DIG IN.  It was a moment of gross, warm, chocolate mess, and truly becoming one with food. But I saved the day, and the end result was splinter-free :)

And as for a quick update on my world, life is good! Almost done with the summer chemistry course I’ve been taking, then a few weeks of kayak-summer camp counseling, and tying up lose ends with the volunteer work I’ve been doing, and then Blacksburg! I’m more excited than ever to move into my own place next year- my first ever with a kitchen at my disposal! So many good things in the near future, I’ll do my best to keep exciting posts around.  Hope everybody’s July has been as equally fulfilling :]

One thought on “A Chocolate Birthday

Leave a Reply

