Summer Berry Salad

fulll shotOrdinarily, I decide on recipes that I want to post pretty far in advance. I’ll think of what would make a good post, maybe try it out a few days, wait for a sunny day to take pictures, plan it out a bit.  But not today.  I’ve decided to try to post with some sort of regularity now that I have so much time to do so and I had penciled this blog post into my schedule before I had any clue what to make.  As that little time frame of “food blogging” that I set aside was drawing closer, I still had no ideas- and I was getting hungry.  I didn’t have many ingredients on hand for the big projects I wanted to do and I couldn’t quite settle.  Then something occurred to me, why don’t I just make what I want to eat for lunch and blog about it? Why does it have to be a fancy project? Plenty of people post salads and sandwiches on their blog and they turn out great, maybe I’ll just do that.  And I did.  And it came together nicely.

Thus giving it the added perk of being a quick and easy, single-serve, healthy lunch to throw together.

Summer Berry Salad (for one)top view

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 5-10 strawberries, cut to your liking
  • 5-10 cherries, pitted
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon honey (or agave/ other liq sweeteners to make entirely vegan)
  • 2 teaspoons bbq sauce (a basic flavor kind)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  • cook quinoa
  • dice the fruits
  • mix the liquid ingredients together for the sauce, and pop it in the microwave for 10-20 seconds so that it gets nice and thin
  • toss everything together in a bowl, enjoy : )

all three

Leave a Reply

