sarasota

it’s not a bad place to live. i’ve been here for a full month now and i’ve mostly enjoyed it, in a week, everything should be much better. having water nearby though, makes as much of a difference as i expected. IMG_2298

Job is great. I really like everyone I work with and I feel really strongly about the message we’re putting out there- Girl Scouts really can empower young girls and I feel great supporting this cause. It’s not too far away, commute is about 15 minutes, 7 miles. Gymnastics is also great. I really did decide to make this year a year for ME to train and really go after my goals. As I’m not working at a gym anymore, I no longer have free and easy access, so I’m having to pay a bit, but it’s part of what I’m after this year. I found a great coach and team not too far away and a rock gym that is super affordable, win and win. Even more, there is a huge circus conservatory about three minutes up the road from me! Took my first class this weekend and truly hope I can find a way to take full advantage of them, it sounds like their adult program has some big changes in store so I’m staying tuned. How lucky is that?!

This year is my year- I totally want to coach again in the future hands down, but I have a handful of skills and tricks I haven’t locked down, so I want to get there before I throw in the towel on the youthful sport of gymnastics.

And, as of yesterday, I finally have my own place!! It was hair-pulling work trying to get to that place. I have a month-to-month that I’ve been in, but it wasn’t really a comfortable place to put down roots, so I’ve been on the hunt. I found a wonderful, quaint apartment above the garage of a wonderful couple and it’s perfect on almost all accounts. Plus, I also found a bike! Which means I can bike to work and to the beach, saving gas and getting in some bonus exercise! Fingers crossed it doesn’t end up needing expensive repairs anytime soon.

Plus I’ve got a friend here, which has made gourmet dount excursions and drive in movie outings pretty fun. She is the friend that helped me get the job and it is nice to not have to start over from scratch here :)IMG_2433

In sum, things are on the up and up. The hardest parts are having to recoup my unemployment expenses from the last few months + a slew of housing issues + having to drive so much. But the next week will mean big positive changes (bike and house!) so hopefully I can live in All is Well land for a little while. I highly recommend everybody come visit me too. I have a little bit of space for guests, a good location for walking to fun shops/bubble tea places and I have three day weekends. Did I mention our office isn’t open on Mondays? Yeah, it’s as great as it sounds. Long days Tues-Fri, but glorious free time three days in a row.IMG_2321

That’s the update on my Sarasota life. Job, Gym, and House are all happily lining up and I’m excited about it all. The amount of sun here is wonderful, exactly what I bargained for :) Shoot me an email if you’d like the new address!

Love

3 thoughts on “sarasota

  1. Hey dude! Whats the new email? Got your card in the mail- so nice to receive a handwritten note. :)

    On Sun, Jul 10, 2016 at 7:51 PM, sunshine shannon wrote:

    > scfrench23 posted: “it’s not a bad place. i’ve been here for a full month > now and i’ve mostly enjoyed it, in a week, everything should be much > better. Job is great. I really like everyone I work with and I feel really > strongly about the message we’re putting out there- Girl” >

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear you are settling in and that you got a bike and a new place to yourself! Sounds just right to be close to the beach and be able to train. I’m happy for you- it seems like you are living the life you want. xo

    On Mon, Jul 18, 2016 at 9:06 AM, Maia Fitzstevens wrote:

    > Hey dude! Whats the new email? Got your card in the mail- so nice to > receive a handwritten note. :) > > On Sun, Jul 10, 2016 at 7:51 PM, sunshine shannon comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote: > >> scfrench23 posted: “it’s not a bad place. i’ve been here for a full month >> now and i’ve mostly enjoyed it, in a week, everything should be much >> better. Job is great. I really like everyone I work with and I feel really >> strongly about the message we’re putting out there- Girl” >>

    Like

Leave a Reply

